Welcome to the Michigan High School Tennis Coaches Association's web site. We hope you will find this media informative, easy to use, and a source of continuous support to tennis coaches around the State. We would appreciate any constructive criticism and ideas you may have to improve this service. As with many web sites, we emphasize that this is "under construction". We will build on your ideas and our own as time permits.

The main purpose of this site is to improve our communication with our members and to encourage more coaches to join our Association. If you click on any of the topics listed in the left column, you will be taken to information pertaining to that topic. Have fun!! Let us know what you think.



The 2020 Coaches' Directory is posted to the website.

The directory is password protected. In February 2020 the current password was emailed to all members that listed email addresses. If you can not access the Directory, you may not have renewed your membership for 2020.

Please check to make sure that your information is correct and send any corrections to Bruce Grotenhuis (see below).


  1. Please send any updates/corrections for the directory to Bruce Grotenhuis
  2. Click here to view directory. (Updated as of February 4, 2020)

February 2020


MHSTeCA is now on FaceBook. If you have a facebook account, just type in Michigan High School Tennis Coaches in the white space near the top of your 'page' (says Search in the space). Click on Request to Join 'button' and you should get approval shortly.

If you are not on facebook, go to www.facebook.com and set up an account.

June 2011


The creation and development of such an energetic project plus the maintenance of it has not been without difficulty, particularly in the funding of the undertaking. We have been able to collect some contributions from different sources within our association and from donors in several tennis communities. However, there is still a definite need for more funds to defray the expenses of this entire endeavor. If you are able to contribute any finances individually or as a group, you are encouraged to send your check of any amount to:

Gary Ellis, Sec.-Treas.
115 Delano Street
Allegan, MI 49010

All contributions will be tax-deductible.

The STATE CHAMPS! Sports Network
has highlights of the 2019 MHSAA Boys Tennis Finals.

The links are listed below.



November 2019


The MHSTeCA has renamed the Mr Tennis and Miss Tennis awards.

They will now be known as:
The Bob Wood Mr Tennis Award
The Tiger Teusink Miss Tennis Award

June 2019



The MHSTeCA's Mr Tennis award is given to a Number One Senior Singles player. Each Division nominates one player from their Division and then one of those is chosen Mr Tennis.

The following players were nominated for Mr Tennis for Fall 2019.
Division 1 - Luke Baylis, Clarkston
Division 2 - Anish Middha, Midland H.H. Dow
Division 3 - Ben Collins, East Grand Rapids
Division 4 - Ian Sood, Ann Arbor Gabriel Richard

The Bob Wood Mr Tennis Award
for 2019 is
Luke Baylis of Clarkston

Congratulations to Luke.
Previous Years Winners

2018 - Andrew Zhang, Bloomfield Hills
2017 - Steve Forman, Troy
2016 - Varun Shanker, H.H. Dow
2015 - Connor Johnston, Northville
2014 - Tim Wang, Novi
2013 - Davis Crocker, Kalamazoo Loy Norrix
2012 - Brett Forman, Troy
2011 - Andrew Cahn, West Bloomfield
2010 - Joe Dube, Detroit Catholic Central.
2009 - Aaron Pfister, Grand Blanc.
2008 - Michael Sukenik, East Grand Rapids
2007 (Fall) - Andrew Jung, Battle Creek Lakeview
2007 (Spring) - Michael Calderone, Jackson Lumen Christi
2006 - Matt Parks, Troy
2005 - Kevin Hayward, Ann Arbor Pioneer

October 2018

The MHSAA's Representative Council Approved the following items on 5/6/19. These items will be in effective for the 2019 Fall Season.

  • Coaches Texting at the Finals: Coaches that are allowed to be on court for coaching purposes during matches are allowed to text (non-competing athletes and staff) as long as it is not disruptive to play. Should it become a problem, the coach will lose that privilege.

  • Deadline to Make a Substitution at Regionals & Finals: At Regional and Final Tournaments any substitution must be made before the end of the last scheduled coaches meeting prior to play. If there is a possibility of a seeded player not being able to play, the coach should notify the tournament manager in advance. If a substitution is made for any seeded player, the flight must be reseeded and redrawn.

  • Number of Allowable Coaches at State Finals: Each School is allowed three (3) coaches on the first day of the Final Tournament. If additional sites are used, one coach may be added for each additional site. On the second day of the tournament only two coaches are allowed. All Coaches must meet MHSAA requirments.

  • Coaching Rule for Sub Varsity & MS Matches: In middle school & subvarsity matches a coach may offer coaching at any time during the match as long as he/she remains off the court and does not disrupt the flow of the match.

July 2019



The MHSTeCA's Miss Tennis award is given to a Number One Senior Singles player. Each Division nominates one player from their Division and then one of those is chosen Miss Tennis.

The following players were nominated for Miss Tennis for Spring 2019.

Division 1 - Tia Mukherjee of Bloomfield Hills
Division 2 - Sloane Teske of East Grand Rapids
Division 3 - Monique Karoub of Detroit Country Day
Division 4 - Elizabeth Etterbeck of Bloomfield Hills Academy of the Sacred Heart


The Tiger Teusink Miss Tennis Award
for 2019 is
Sloane Teske of East Grand Rapids

Congratulations to Sloane.
Previous Years Winners

2018 - Sanoli Kumar, Northville
2017 - Ava Thielman, Utica Eisenhower
2016 - Raven Neely, Grosse Pointe South
2015 - Davina Nguyen, Utica
2014 - Alexandria Najarian, Cranbrook-Kingswood
2013 - Mary Hanna, Saline
2012 - Hailey Barrett, Grand Ledge
2011 - Kelsey Dieters, Rochester
2010 - Kathleen Hawkins, Kalamazoo Hackett
2009 - Maggie Remynse, Battle Creek Lakeview
2008 - Shannon Mathews, Cranbrook Kingswood
2007 - No Season
2006 - Jessica Seyferth, Ann Arbor Pioneer
2005 - Emily Dudzik, Greenville
2004 - Stephanie Kebler, Okemos

June 2019


MHSTeCA now has a written procedure for adding new members to its Board of Directors.
Click here to check on this process.

June 2015

Comments, updated information, corrections, etc. can be emailed to Webmaster